Honoring Excellence2018-10-26T12:36:05+00:00


Students on-campus continually impress staff in Residence Life, along with faculty and administrators at Texas A&M University, due to their academic achievements. We wanted a unique way to celebrate students’ hard work and accomplishments, as well as the faculty and staff who support them.

Honoring Excellence is a formal ceremony in which Texas A&M University students are given the opportunity to nominate faculty and staff members for awards and recognizes on-campus students who have demonstrated academic and leadership excellence, including those who achieve Distinguished Student status (Student Rule 11).

The Honoring Excellence awards are given to up to eight outstanding faculty and staff members each year who go above and beyond, both inside and outside the their classroom/positions, to impact student learning and academic success.

Faculty & Staff Nomination Criteria

Recipients are recognized for their strong interest in overall student development and academic success. The selection committee considers, but is not limited to, the following criteria:

  • Contributions beyond occupational requirements through guidance, leadership and personal interest to enhance students’ academic experiences at Texas A&M University.
  • Maintains direct student contact and is a role model.
  • Serves as an advocate for students and student issues.
  • Recognizes the uniqueness of every student.
  • Shows a commitment to students’ wellbeing especially related to academics.
  • Faculty and staff members must be currently employed at Texas A&M University or an affiliated-agency.
  • Self-nominations are ineligible.

2018 Faculty & Staff Honorees

Honoring Excellence 2018 Faculty & Staff Honorees

Mrs. Angela Allen, Instructional Assistant Professor, Mathematics

Dr. William Collopy, Lecturer, History

Dr. Don Curtis, Assistant Dean, Department of Public Health Studies

Mr. Michael Douglas, Facilities Coordinator, Mechanical Engineering

Dr. JoungDong Kim, Instructional Assistant Professor, Mathematics

Dr. Duncan MacKenzie, Associate Professor, Biology

Dr. Tony McDonald, Assistant Professor, Industrial Engineering

Dr. Dwight Roblyer, Lecturer, Political Science

Nomination & Review Process

Nominations should be submitted through the electronic application link sent to on-campus resident TAMU email addresses or via the form below. Only electronic nominations via this form will be accepted.

Nominations are due January 2nd, 2019 at 11:59p.m.

The selection committee is comprised of students, faculty, and staff members who review nominations.

Submit a Nomination

Contact Us

For questions about the faculty and staff awards nomination process, student recognition status, or the program, please contact Residence Life’s Academic Support Initiatives.

Academic Support Initiatives
Location: White Creek Community Center, Offices 122 – 132
Hours of Operation: 8:00a.m. – 5:00p.m., M – F
Phone: 979.458.0343
Email: academics@housing.tamu.edu